Located among the glitzy maisons on New York’s Fifth Avenue is the flagship jewellery and watches store of French fashion house Chanel, making it the first stand-alone jewellery store for the brand in the United States.
Designed by architect and frequent house collaborator Peter Marino, the two-storey boutique is located within a French Renaissance Revival-style skyscraper, the Crown Building, built in 1921. The facade features black granite, iron, glass and screens cast from gold bronze.
The exterior scheme extends indoors, where black and gold are used as an opulent celebration of both the house’s savoir-faire and an homage to Gabrielle ‘Coco’ Chanel, including references from her Parisian home on Rue Cambon.
Among the many fine details are a bespoke gold chandelier by Brand van Egmond, two chandeliers by Paris goldsmith Goossens, and rock crystal – a favourite material of the iconic designer – for the balustrades of the grand staircase, which are plated in 24-karat gold.
A number of bespoke artworks are dotted around the sprawling space – which encompasses a grand gallery, four fine-jewellery salons and a watch salon – including a portrait of Coco Chanel by Brazilian artist Vik Muniz and a piece by Iranian-American painter Y.Z. Kami.
Displayed within the gilded walls is the spectacular 55.55 necklace which, featuring the same number of carats in diamonds, was designed to mark the 100th anniversary of the No.5 perfume.
Photography: Chanel

